Day 49 - Helena Trolley

07/12/2012 22:30

Today, we rode the Trolley that goes around downtown Helena. It was one hour long. We saw Lime Kilns,Mansions, deer sitting on peoples front porches, and what not (just kidding we saw other things too). Here's a list of people's favorites : Mom liked the Mansions, Grandma liked the old houses, Rebecca and Christina liked the Capitol building or as Christina says "I liked the Government", Sarah liked the old houses, Joshua liked the Lime Kilns, and Caleb just liked the Trolley. The man who drove us was named Buffalo Brian and was very entertaining. He showed us where people mined for gold and where they used to live which was cool to see.  We also learned a very interesting fact: In the late 1800s, there were more millionairs per capita in Helena than in any other city in the US!!! 

At night, Mom and Grandma went to see a play called Ragtime at the Grandstreet Theatre in downtown Helena while the rest of us watched movies.. 

~Rebecca & Sarah

Our experience at the Grandstreet Theatre was superb!  The theatre is very small so you practically walk in the door and the last row of seats is right there.

The performance was excellent.  A huge cast performed so well and sang beautifully.  Mom & I were not familiar with the story but we really enjoyed it!

 

I also took a walk by myself and found these beautiful yellow flowers standing at attention to the rising sun.  The flower face sought the sunshine so beautifully .  Oh, that we would seek the Son just as they did! 

 

I really loved the Trolley ride.  I enjoyed hearing so much of the history of Helena.  I want to take Tony back to ride one time with me again.  The kids however, I know don't care anything about going again.

 

We miss you all!  Love,Gretchen